Sports Betting Hall of Fame Inducts Five

Five new members will be inducted into the Sports Betting Hall of Fame this month at the virtual SBC Summit Barcelona. Inductees include Ralph Topping (l.), former CEO of William Hill.

Sports Betting Hall of Fame Inducts Five

The Sports Betting Hall of Fame welcomes five new members this month at the SBC Summit Barcelona—Digital. The ceremony will be held in a virtual setting because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The new inductees include Ralph Topping, former William Hill CEO; Victor Chandler, BetVictor founder; Bill Mummery, pioneer in online betting and the Asian market; Giovanni Garrisi, StanleyBet CEO; and Juan B. Pérez Hidalgo, president of Coljuegos.

The ceremony will include interviews with the new members, sharing success stories and opinions on the state of the industry, according to CDC Gaming Reports.

“Growing up in the industry, it was a privilege to meet and observe a lot of the people who have appeared in the Hall of Fame,” Topping said.

SBC launched the Sports Betting Hall of Fame in 2016, in order to honor the accomplishments of those who have lasting success in the industry. The original inductees were Carsten Koerl (CEO, Sportradar), Mark Blandford (Founder, Sportingbet) and Howard Chisholm (Director, Bookmakers Technology Consortium).

The U.S. chapter of the Sports Betting Hall of Fame brought in five new members earlier this year, including Victor Salerno, president, USBookmaking & US Fantasy Sports; Raymond Lesniak, former state senator from New Jersey; Roxy Roxborough, legendary Las Vegas oddsmaker; Sara Slane, former senior vice president, American Gaming Association; Jay Rood, COO, Bet.Works.

The Class of 2020 joined Art Manteris, vice president Race and Sports Book Operations, Station Casinos; Dennis Drazin, CEO, Monmouth Park; and Chris Christie, former New Jersey Governor.